About

The duration of the «Font course» is 6 months, it is designed for 192 academic hours of training (8 hours of classes each week). The classes are in person and take place in St. Petersburg. Within the framework of this course, students study theoretical and practical disciplines related to font and typography. The main goal of the course is to train fully prepared font designers from related professional design fields. The course results in a graduation project—an original font created in order to complete a real technical task.

The following theoretical disciplines are studied in the course curriculum: the history of typography, terms and definitions, the classification of fonts, the forms of graphemes and various types of fonts, the layout of texts, and the corresponding software. Practical training includes calligraphy (pointed and wide-pointed feathers, as well as modern and experimental instruments), exercises related to practice such topics as rhythm, composition, and black and white balance.

In the classroom, students study fonts and typography with help of simple (modular or stick) fonts, simultaneously exploring font mastering, programming, and the testing/debugging methodology for their fonts. As a graduation project, each student creates a visually and technically complex font intended for highly specific tasks.

Photo gallery

О курсе

«Шрифтовой курс» длится 6 месяцев и рассчитан на 192 академических часа обучения (8 часов занятий каждую неделю). Занятия очные и проходят в Санкт-Петербурге. В рамках данного курса студенты изучают теоретические и практические дисциплины, посвященные теме шрифта и типографики. Основной целью курса является подготовка полноценных шрифтовых дизайнеров из смежных профессий дизайна. Итогом курса является дипломный проект — собственный шрифт, созданный для в рамках реального технического задания.

В рамках курса изучаются следующие теоретические дисциплины: история типографики, термины и определения, классификация шрифтов, формы графем и различные типы шрифтов, верстка, а также соответствующее программное обеспечение. Практическое обучение включает в себя каллиграфию (остроконечное и ширококонечное перья, а также современные и экспериментальные инструменты), упражнения на тему ритма, композиции, баланса черного и белого.

На занятиях студенты учатся теме шрифта и типографики на простых (модульных или палочных) шрифтах, попутно изучая мастеринг шрифтов, программирование и методологию тестирования/отладки своих шрифтов. В качестве дипломного проекта каждый студент реализует визуально и технически сложный шрифт для решения узкоспециализированных задач.

Фотогалерея